University of Florida eliminates DEI

The University of Florida is a public land-grant research university in Gainesville, Florida. It is a senior member of the State University System of Florida. The university traces its origins to 1853 and has operated continuously on its Gainesville campus since September 1906.
  • Former names: East Florida Seminary (1853–1861; 1866–1905) · Florida Agricultural College (1884–1903) · University of Florida at Lake City (1903–1905) · St. Petersburg Normal and Industrial School (1893–1905) · South Florida Military and Educational College (1894–1905) · University of the State of Florida (1905–1909)
  • Motto: Civium in moribus rei publicae salus (Latin) · On seal: "In God We Trust"
  • Motto in English: "The welfare of the state depends upon the morals of its citizens"
  • Type: Public land-grant research university
  • Established: January 6, 1853
  • Parent institution: State University System of Florida
  • Accreditation: SACS
Data from: